Five Leading Members of Congress Receive Second Annual Climate Change-Maker Award

December 5th, 2023
photo of the U.S. Capitol building
Courtesy of Sasan Hezarkhani via Unsplash

Sens. Rosen & Baldwin, Reps. Grijalva, Lee, and Blunt Rochester Recognized for Tireless Efforts to Address Climate Change

(Washington, D.C.) – Today, the Climate Action Campaign (CAC) announced the recipients of the second annual “Climate Change-Maker” award, granted to five Members of Congress for their leadership on climate and clean energy over the past year, including championing efforts to advance federal action to cut climate pollution and defending climate progress in the face of persistent opposition in Congress.

This year’s Climate Change-Maker Award winners are: Senator Jacky Rosen (NV), Senator Tammy Baldwin (WI), Representative Raúl Grijalva (AZ-07), Representative Summer Lee (PA-12), and Representative Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL).

Senator Jacky Rosen (NV) is  a powerful advocate for growing Nevada’s clean energy industry. Additionally, she played a crucial role in securing funding through the Inflation Reduction Act to mitigate the impacts of extreme heat and drought in Nevada.

Senator Tammy Baldwin (WI) has championed federal investments in climate-smart agriculture to support Wisconsin’s farmers. She is a staunch defender of the hard-fought climate wins secured through the Inflation Reduction Act (IRA).  

Representative Raúl Grijalva (AZ-07) serves as the Ranking Member of the House Natural Resources Committee and has been a fearless leader in defending climate investments and funding against attempts to gut them. Rep. Grijalva is also a lead architect and sponsor of the A. Donald McEachin Environmental Justice For All Act, considered the most comprehensive environmental justice legislation to date.

Representative Summer Lee (PA-12), whose district encompasses Pittsburgh and the surrounding area, has consistently fought for measures to monitor and mitigate deadly pollution. She has also championed energy efficiency and weatherization benefits for her constituents made available through the passage of the Inflation Reduction Act.

Representative Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL) is a key voice on the House Energy & Commerce Committee and led her colleagues in calling on EPA and the administration to set strong, science-based standards to safeguard against dangerous soot pollution, improve air quality, and protect public health. She is a champion calling for bold federal action to slash climate pollution and advance environmental justice.

CAC presented the awards on behalf of its coalition of major national environment, environmental justice, and public health groups, and dozens of state partners across the country. National organizations sitting on CAC’s steering committee include: Center for American Progress, Earthjustice, Environment America, Environmental Defense Fund, League of Conservation Voters, National Hispanic Medical Association, National Wildlife Federation, Natural Resources Defense Council, Sierra Club, Union of Concerned Scientists, U.S. Climate Action Network, and WE ACT for Environmental Justice.

“We’re thrilled to recognize the second annual Climate Change-Maker Award winners for their impressive leadership and effective work in Congress to cut pollution fueling the climate crisis and expand clean energy investments,” said Margie Alt, Campaign Director of Climate Action Campaign. “We look forward to continuing to work with them to defend and build on the climate progress we’ve made.”

In 2022, the inaugural Climate Change-Maker Award was presented to Senator Tina Smith (MN), Senator Catherine Cortez Masto (NV)​​, Rep. Kathy Castor (FL-14), Rep. Susie Lee (NV-03), and Rep. Susan Wild (PA-07).

About the Climate Action Campaign

CAC is a vibrant coalition of dozens of major national environment, environmental justice, and public health groups, working together to drive ambitious, durable federal action based on science, to address the climate crisis. Our goal is to reduce climate pollution and accelerate the transition to clean energy in ways that support justice, jobs, health and economic opportunity for all.


Quotes from the winners:

Senator Jacky Rosen (NV): “With communities across Nevada experiencing the extreme effects of climate change , I’m taking action to combat the climate crisis and reduce our carbon footprint. I proudly helped pass historic investments in clean energy, and I’ve led the bipartisan fight to protect Nevada’s solar industry and the good-paying jobs it creates. I’m grateful to be receiving the Climate Change-Maker award, and I’ll keep working to build a more sustainable future for Nevada.”

Senator Tammy Baldwin (WI): “Climate change is an immediate and growing threat to our way of life, economy, and well-being. Wisconsinites are feeling the impacts of climate change from rising temperatures causing droughts and damaging crops to extreme weather events disrupting our Great Lakes ecosystem and economy. I am proud to deliver results for Wisconsin and want to thank the Climate Action Campaign for this recognition. I look forward to building a more sustainable and resilient future for generations to come.”

Representative Raúl Grijalva (AZ-07): “My time in Congress has focused on promoting climate action, advancing environmental justice, and delivering policies that protect the communities that have disproportionately suffered the worst impacts from climate change and dangerous pollution. When President Biden signed the Inflation Reduction Act into law, we secured hard-fought climate progress and a historic down payment that will invest in our efforts to transition to a clean energy economy and address systemic inequities in our country. While Republicans stand with fossil fuels and climate denialism, I’m proud to have played a part in shepherding policies that will make a transformative and positive difference in the lives of our constituents for generations to come. I’m honored and grateful to receive the Climate Changemaker Award from the Climate Action Campaign and will continue to stand with them in our collective fight against climate change.”

Representative. Summer Lee (PA-12): “I ran for office fighting for environmental justice to ensure that communities like where I grew up in Mon Valley had access to clean air and clean water. These historic federal climate investments are reaching local communities and families and will make a better future for all of us. I’m committed to building on these investments to ensure we tackle the climate crisis, reduce harmful emissions, and pass down a clean, climate-resilient Pennsylvania for future generations.”

Representative Lisa Blunt Rochester (DE-AL): “I’m humbled and honored to receive the Climate Change-Maker award from the Climate Action Campaign. One of my top priorities since arriving in Congress has been ensuring that my constituents have clean air to breathe, clean water to drink, and a planet preserved for generations to come. Delawareans don’t need to be told about the climate crisis – as the lowest-lying state in the country, we live it every day. That’s why I’ll continue my work to fight the climate crisis, create the clean energy jobs of the future, and preserve the planet for generations to come.”

Share This: